All rights reserved
Our disclaimer

 WNY Travel Guide logo

The Regions of Western New York

 Although we view Western New York as one community, for your convenience we have divided the 17 counties area into six regions as shown on the map below. If you have a specific destination in mind, this page (or our search page) are the quickest ways to find it.

Note: These are not the same as the "official" regions that the State of New York Tourism Dept. uses to divide its "Vacationlands", but they make more sense to us. Of course, any such division must be somewhat arbitrary, so after you explore the region you are interested in we encourage you to look at what is available in neighboring regions. The distances are not that far and the scenery is great!

You may click on the map or the links below to find out more about each region.

 Buffalo/Niagara Frontier

(Erie & Niagara Counties):

Chautauqua/ Allegheny

(Cattaraugus and Chautauqua Counties)

Genesee Valley/Letchworth

(Allegany, Genesee, Livingston & Wyoming Counties)

Rochester / Erie Canal

(Monroe, Orleans & Wayne Counties)

Western Finger Lakes

(Ontario, Seneca and Yates Counties)

Corning / Elmira

(Chemung, Schuyler and Steuben Counties) 

According to WebCounter you are the person to seek the Best of the West!

Search our site